Skip to content
September 17, 2009 / Raffy Pekson II

Is Facebook In the Verge of Promoting…?

September 19, 2009 – I’ve checked Facebook Ads the past few days. Looks like the ad is gone. I do hope this doesn’t happen again!


I couldn’t say “sex” since it’s not explicitly marketing that. Promiscuity? Not really. Depicting an emotional imbalance in a sexual manner? Don’t know. Maybe it can be called an “adult-oriented” ad.

Facebooks adult-oriented advertisement

Facebook's adult-oriented advertisement

While going through my usual routine of looking at the wall posts of my Facebook network, commenting and answering private message, I was surprised then saddened to see the ad “Meet Local Singles.” Oh, geez! Is Facebook beoming desperate or no validation to ads? I love using Facebook and Friendster because I’ve never seen anything like this in their ads — except now.

A close-up of the ad

A close-up of the ad

I clicked on the ad and I landed on this site. What the? I copied the phrase, went to http://www.freetranslation.com and opted to translate it from German to English. Nada. I don’t even know what language this is.

This is were the Facebook ad lands at

This is were the Facebook ad lands at

I do hope Facebook would veer away from these kinds of ads. I haven’t checked if my children’s Facebook accounts would make these appear but hey! Let’s not go into these kinds of advertising. Fine. I’m an adult. I can easily decide to filter it out of my mind. However, if Facebook can’t remove it, at least give the user the option to filter it out.

Please, Facebook. Don’t be that desperate. I love using your social networking site. It was even my daughter who convinced me to set up an account in 2006 because she moved to it from MySpace. Since then, it’s always been my social networking site “of choice.”

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Raffy Pekson II / Sep 17 2009 4:18 pm

    My friend Andrew O. just left me a Facebook comment:

    “I believe it’s Danish and not German. Ipsos is a UK/Irish Market research/advertising company. I guess they know that sex works, so they use it as a hook :P”

    Sigh.

Leave a Reply

